Tommy Aldridge

Aldridge joined the up-and-coming rock band Black Oak Arkansas in the early 1970s and recorded nine albums with them between 1972 and 1976. From 1978 to 1981 he played with the Pat Travers Band of the Canadian blues rock guitarist of the same name. Finally, he was offered the position of drummer with Ozzy Osbourne, which he also accepted because of his exceptional talent Randy Rhoads. Although Diary of a Madman calls him a drummer, Lee Kerslake played on the original version of the album. After Bark at the Moon, Aldridge was released by Sharon Osbourne.

Aldridge also played for Gary Moore from 1981. In 1986 he started the Project Driver with Rudy Sarzo, Tony MacAlpine and Rob Rock. Finally in 1987 Aldridge accepted an offer from David Coverdale of Whitesnake, as did Rudy Sarzo. It was too late to play in 1987, but he could be heard on Slip of the Tongue (1989). In 1990 this line-up broke up.

After Whitesnake, Aldridge played in the 1990s for Manic Eden (with Rudy Sarzo and Adrian Vandenberg), Motörhead and Ted Nugent, but was back with the band from 2002 to 2007. From 2007 to 2009 Aldridge toured with Thin Lizzy.

Category
Guest Trainer

Tommy Aldridge

Aldrige kam Anfang der 1970er-Jahre zu der aufstrebenden Rockband Black Oak Arkansas und nahm zwischen 1972 und 1976 neun Alben mit ihnen auf. 1978 bis 1981 spielte er bei der Pat Travers Band des gleichnamigen kanadischen Bluesrock-Gitarristen. Schließlich wurde ihm die Schlagzeugerposition bei Ozzy Osbourne angeboten, die er auch wegen des Ausnahmetalents Randy Rhoads annahm. Obwohl er bei Diary of a Madman als Schlagzeuger genannt wird, spielte Lee Kerslake auf der Urversion des Albums. Nach Bark at the Moon wurde Aldridge von Sharon Osbourne entlassen.

Gleichfalls spielte Aldridge ab 1981 für Gary Moore. 1986 startete er mit Rudy Sarzo, Tony MacAlpine und Rob Rock das Project Driver. Schließlich nahm Aldridge 1987 ebenso wie Rudy Sarzo ein Angebot von David Coverdale von Whitesnake an. Zwar war das zu spät, um noch auf 1987 mitzuspielen, aber auf Slip of the Tongue (1989) war er zu hören. 1990 löste sich diese Besetzung auf.

Nach Whitesnake spielte Aldridge in den 1990ern für Manic Eden (mit Rudy Sarzo und Adrian Vandenberg), für Motörhead und Ted Nugent, war aber von 2002 bis 2007 dann wieder für die Band tätig. Von 2007 bis 2009 tourte Aldridge mit Thin Lizzy.

Category
Guest Trainer